jump to navigation

Happy April! April 4, 2012

Posted by haelybop in Baby, Blankets & Afghans, Finished Projects, Hats, Leah, Random.
trackback

Leah says:

We have entered what I hope to be Spring without any snow and with refreshingly coolish temperatures ahead.  Welcome Spring!  Though we in the GTA can’t really complain at all about the winter we had, it was the mildest in years and literally snow-less, I am happy to see that Spring is now official.  I’m also happy to see my tulips and lilies coming up in the front garden bed.  I’m so eager to get outside and continue to create curb appeal to our home.  It really needs it and while the work seems endless, I’m really  enjoying it thus far.

Now on to the knitting side of things.  There’s good news and bad news.  The good news is, guess what?  I finished the afghan!  Woot Woot!

 

And here on it’s new home:

I do apologize for the quality of these photos, they’re taken with my iPhone and the lighting is always wonky.

I’m thrilled with it.  It was such an easy knit (basket weave stitch) and was great to watch movies (after movies, after movies, after tv shows) with it on my lap.  And its WARM.  It ended up taking 13 skeins of Patons Tweed Wool in chestnut and I’m really happy with the colour and how it blocked.  At long last, what has taken about a year from the time I purchased the wool to completion, we have an afghan.

And now for the bad news.  I knit the cutest hat for my friend’s new baby but didn’t swatch it and it’s gigantic.   What do you think?

 

Good Luck Bear is trying it on for size and it’s way too big for him.  I love the pattern and how it turned out, but sheesh!  I just don’t know what to do with it.  I wanted the snowflake pattern because the little one was born in February, but maybe I can give it to her next Christmas for next winter.  Right now I’m knitting baby mitts and another hat for her.

I’ll leave you with this next picture, we’ve had a very warm spell in March and during one of those gorgeously warm days, Justin and I went on a hike in Dundas, at Spencer Creek Park.  This is of Websters Falls:

Love that he even caught the rainbow the mist caused at the base of the falls.

Here’s to many more warm Spring days ahead!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

