jump to navigation

Socks! February 7, 2010

Posted by cheryl in Leah, Socks.
trackback

 Leah Says: Ah ha! Thanks to Emily and to youtube, I have successfully completed my first sock! I got past the heel flap- sometimes I read wayyyyy too much into a pattern. I’m well on my way to finishing the other one. The yarn, Classic Elite Fixation Solids, has a lot of elastic in it and it makes for some really comfy socks! Justin, (my lovely foot model here) has placed an order for a pair. These are for my Dad. I had no idea what to knit him, and socks just seemed to make sense. I hope he likes them! Love you Dad!

Next up is a small and easy cowl scarf for my Mom, that is just finishing up the yarn I used for her capelet. Money is a little tight right now, so I’m trying to be economic in my knitting for the next little while. Then I’m on to a baby blanket. This one is going to be a doozy, the pattern has K4tog’s!!! I have the worst time with the k3tog’s, so there may be some curse words that may be heard while I get the hang of that. The baby blanket is for friends of mine, C and T- I went to New York with them for New Years Eve this year and T is expecting a boy in June! For the colour I’m thinking something bold and not baby-ish. Like a deep purple or red or something.

Anyway- I’ll be finishing the other sock today while Justin and I watch bits and pieces of the superbowl. The bits and pieces will probably be the commercials and half-time show. 🙂 I’m not a football fan and neither is Justin!

Knitting rocks my socks!

Leah

Comments»

1. Judy Rumensky - March 16, 2010

I would love to have this pattern. I have only knitted 2 socks. They are tube socks. I plan to try the real thing (with heel and gussetts) next time. Where can I find this pattern?

2. Leah - March 16, 2010

Hi Judy! I found it on ravelry- in fact a link to this pattern is in the previous post, but here it is again:

http://ladyneaknitsalot.blogspot.com/2006/11/free-pattern.html

It’s free! And I think the pattern is great to learn the heel flap and toes on. I used Cascade yarns Fixation Spray Dye yarn (super stretchy, makes for very comfy socks!) in colour number 9816.

Happy sock knitting!

Judy Rumensky - March 17, 2010

Thank you so much. I got it and plan to begin tonight. Great pattern. Thanks also for the yarn color. It’s beautiful. Congrats on a good looking sock.

Leah - March 17, 2010

Thanks! Good luck with your first pair of socks too!


Leave a Reply

