jump to navigation

More christmas projects to share! And a question on sock knitting… February 2, 2010

Posted by cheryl in Leah, Socks, Work in Progress.
trackback

Leah says … Here are some other knitting christmas presents I made. These are the Maggie armwarmers from Subliminal Rabbit:

A Table Runner from a magazine with linen (love the look of linen wool!)

 and placemats for my mom with mercerized cotton. and placemats for my mom with mercerized cotton.

 and placemats for my mom with mercerized cotton:


I’m proud of myself! There are a few that I still don’t have picutres for yet they are, a pillow (my Mom is sweing it together for me) and another set of toddler armwarmers (exact same as the ones I did posted some time in May I think.) and I can truly say I honestly enjoyed knitting them, hiccups and all. The yarn for kara’s pillow was this super gorgeous chunky yarn, Twinkle by classic elite soft chunky, and my fingers were so happy to knit it- except that it was close to $30.00 a skein, and the pillow took exactly three to knit! Poor bank account! 😦

A question for you sock knitters out there. I am knitting my first pair of socks for my Pops, and after kntting the cuff and leg of the sock, I’m a little confused. These are the instructions, word for word, on the pattern:

“Heel Flap: Work 31 sts in patt, hold on N1 (heel will be worked on N2 and N3.) ”

Ok, I got that- there are three needles the stiches are on, needle one I just continue in the leg pattern, no problem.

“1 (RS): Sl1, (k1, p1) rep to end of heel
2(ws): Sl1, (p1, K1) rep to end of heel.”

Ok, heres my question: This “row 2 Wrong Side” thing- how is that possible on dpns? Aren’t I always knitting on the right side? And actually I have another question. If I always slip the first stitch, then that stitch never gets knit and it’ll start to stretch out and I don’t think thats right. Anyone have any thoughts? Am I clear on what the problem is? I might be missing something about sock knitting, I think. Actually, here’s the link to the pattern:

http://ladyneaknitsalot.blogspot.com/2006/11/free-pattern.html

Please feel free to comment if you know the answer. The socks are knit with cascade yarns fixation solid, REALLY stretchy and soft. I really hope they turn out, it seems like an easy pattern to start sock knitting.

Here’s to the January blahs being almost over! Knitting sure does help with those!

Your faithful knitting blogger,

Leah

Comments»

1. emily - February 3, 2010

you will be working in shortrows and holding a bunch of stitches aside….meaning you will building the heel and then pick up stitches to finish it off…I will show you!!

2. Leah - February 3, 2010

Yes please! I think I get it but Im not sure. I’ll have it with me tonight. In the mean time, I’m knitting a cowl scarf for my Mom!


Leave a Reply

