jump to navigation

Operation Socks: A Glitch March 10, 2009

Posted by cheryl in Cheryl, Socks, Work in Progress.
Tags: , ,
trackback



Cheryl says I finished my first sock last week and it looks GREAT.

It’s a pity I’m going to have to frog it.

Yup.

You heard me.

I have to rip that sock right out.

I’d like to offer a  word of advice to all you new knitters: When choosing yarn for a project, choose a yarn that will WORK with said project.

You don’t want to make a sock, for example, in a yarn that doesn’t stretch.

For some reason I thought it would be a good idea to make my sock in …

MERCERIZED COTTON.

!!!!!

This is probably the WORST yarn to use on a sock. It has absolutely no stretch. I practically broke my arm trying to get the thing on and off of my foot.

I’m now attempting the socks again with proper sock yarn. They look fantastic, if I do say so myself. I’ll post pics as soon as I can get hold of a camera.

Comments»

1. L-Fo :P - March 10, 2009

NOW you tell me. Cheryl!!!!! Isn’t that hilarious that we had the same problem at the same time? Your sock did look sooo great, though! Whereas the shawl… ehhhhh. not so much.


Leave a Reply

