jump to navigation

Knit Lists and Other Things February 19, 2009

Posted by cheryl in Leah, stitch and bitch, Work in Progress.
trackback

Leah says … Tonight is our knitting circle, and I am once again really looking forward to it. I am bringing Justin’s scarf to finish, or to get really close to finishing. I’m almost done knitting it and then will learn, from my fabulous “Stitch ‘N Bitch” book, how to make a fringe for his scarf. And in all honesty, I’m very happy to have it be done! It’s a little too wide for my liking, and that is why it is taking some time. I’m so excited to start my next project- A cute little camera flash case (it is actually an Ipod case pattern that I am making in the largest size to fit the flash) and that is for Justin’s mother who is a wonderful person and an amazing photographer. That pattern is also found in the Stitch ‘N Bitch book. It’s small so I’m hoping it will not take me two weeks to knit, like the scarf has. If you haven’t heard of Stich ‘N Bitch and you are a new knitter like me, go get it! It is fabulous! The patterns are amazing, easy and Debbie Stoller, the author, teaches stitches coherently and breaks down codes and abbreviations for you that you would come across on yarn labels and patterns. This was recommended to me by Emily and thank goodness for it!

To help me organize myself and my knitting projects, I have decided to create a list. I am a “To Do” list kind of gal. My favourite part of “To Do” lists? Crossing the items off! I know it looks quite organized, but I really need to jot these things down and have something to reference or else I’ll buy wool twice for one task, and then miss another task completely. Here is my “To Knit” list:

1. Camera flash case for Pat
*I have the wool, tools and pattern
2. Mittens for Roxanne
*I have started these already and have the wool
3. Kerchief for me
*I have the wool, tools and pattern
4. Mittens for Brian
*I need wool
5. Shawl for Mom
*I have the wool, tools and pattern.
6. Scarf for Lou
*I need wool, and Cheryl- I am stealing your pattern from the pink scarf you are knitting now. Love that!!
7. ? for my sister
8. ? for my brother
9. ? for my Dad

I think that should take care of the rest of the year. My Mom’s shawl will probably take the longest.

Love the organization…. love it!!

Comments»

1. cheryl - February 20, 2009

Leah, I think you need to post a picture of your new hair cut!!

2. marri - February 20, 2009

i’ve been knitting for a fairly long time, and SnB is still my go-too reference book! love it!

if you haven’t signed up yet, try ravelry for keeping a knitting to-do list – it’s amazing!!!

3. hayah.cc - February 21, 2009

wow very nice
really i like this blog
thanks

4. Leah - February 21, 2009

Cheryl- I will post a pic of my hair cut! I think Emily has them on her camera.

Marri- THANK YOU for the ravelry idea. I will get on that pronto.

Hayah- thank you for your comments!


Leave a Reply

